Park History


Red Rock Canyon is a beautiful example of nature's artwork in Oklahoma. Wind, water and natural forces have shaped 260 million-year-old deposits from the Permian geological period Into the natural sculpture you see today. Before the mid-1800s, Plains Indians used the canyon as a winter camp. Game was abundant, the water was pure and clean and it was an escape from the cold prairie winds, just as it is today.

The canyon became a landmark on the California Road. During the 1849 California Gold Rush, the westward leading road was a haven for weary travelers. It provided fresh water, grazing for livestock and a place to rest and repair their wagons.

In 1956, the City of Hinton, Hinton Kiwanis Club, and one other individual donated the land, known as Kiwanis Canyon Park to the state. The park was renamed Red Rock Canyon State Park. The 310 acres of steep, rugged cliffs and canyons make the park a favorite spot for camping and hiking.

As of November 1st, 2018 the Red Rock Canyon State Park was no longer operated by the State of Oklahoma. However, the park is now privately operated with a desire to see this beautiful park continue to thrive and reach more visitors to showcase the beauty of Red Rock Canyon.

The canyon floor is home to a rich ecosystem that includes many varieties of trees, birds and animal life. Nature puts on a spectacular fall foliage show from mid-October to mid-November but every season is special at Red Rock Canyon Adventure Park.